The 6th Annual George H.W. Bush Points of Light Awards to Celebrate Exceptional Individuals Driving Positive Change

Washington, D.C.| Apr 18, 2024

The transformative power of voluntary service will take center stage as The George H.W. Bush Points of Light Awards celebrates its sixth year honoring individuals who make a significant impact through contributions to community and expanding opportunities for others. The event, chaired by Marie and Andy Unanue, will take place on October 23, 2024, at The Capital Hilton in Washington, D.C.

This night will honor exceptional individuals who have demonstrated remarkable commitment to their communities and beyond:

  • Patrick Dempsey: Dempsey is a Screen Actors Guild Award winner and a Golden Globe nominee best known for his portrayal of Dr. Derek Shepherd on the hit ABC series, Grey’s Anatomy. He is being honored for his work as Founder of the Dempsey Center which helps make life better for people impacted by cancer through integrative support services—all at no cost.
  • Arthur M. Blank: Blank is best known as co-founder of The Home Depot, Blank is a tireless advocate of using purpose and profit hand-in-hand to benefit the communities around him, most notably through the Blank Family Foundation, which in 2023, reached $1B in giving.
  • Ashley Brown: Brown founded Selfless Love Foundation. The nonprofit is dedicated to improving the child welfare system and creating opportunities for more foster children to find their forever families and thrive in adulthood.

“Points of Light celebrates those who are committed to transforming the lives of others through service so every person may see the possibilities within themselves to be a point of light,” said Jennifer Sirangelo, president and CEO, Points of Light. “This year’s honorees are meeting critical human needs in local communities. Their own personal experiences have driven their passion and commitment to the causes they hold dear, lighting a path for others. We congratulate them and look forward to celebrating Patrick, Arthur and Ashley this October.”

Last year’s honorees included Mike Love and Jacquelyne Love, Condoleezza Rice, Robert F. Smith, and Rebecca and Christyn Taylor. Honorees from 2022 included José Andrés and Maurice R. “Hank” Greenberg. In 2021, Hugh Evans, Francine A. LeFrak, Dr. Ala Stanford, and Bryan Stevenson were honored. Hamdi Ulukaya, Captain Sir Thomas Moore, Esha and Shreyaa Venkat, and Marc and Lynne Benioff were honored in 2020. And in 2019, inaugural honorees included Garth Brooks, Maria Rose Belding and Khloe Thompson.

If you or your company are interested in getting involved with this event to help Points of Light honor these individuals and inspire millions more through our mission, please reach out to Kelly Kener at [email protected] to learn more about this year’s sponsorship opportunities.

About Points of Light

Points of Light is a nonpartisan, global nonprofit organization that inspires, equips and mobilizes millions of people to take action that changes the world. We envision a world in which every individual discovers their power to make a difference, creating healthy communities in vibrant, participatory societies. Through 145 affiliates across 39 countries, and in partnership with thousands of nonprofits and corporations, Points of Light engages 3.7 million people in 16.7 million hours of voluntary service each year. We bring the power of people to meet the most pressing needs in local communities.

For All Points of Light Media Inquiries