About the Awards

President George H.W. Bush believed that every societal problem is being solved somewhere by a group or an individual. The George H.W. Bush Points of Light Awards honors outstanding individuals advancing solutions in ways that demonstrate the extraordinary traits of our 41st president: integrity, empathy, respect, optimism, conviction in the face of opposition, and belief in the power of the human spirit to create positive change.

Honorees demonstrate the transformative power of service, and are driving significant and sustained impact through their everyday actions and words that lights the path for other points of light.

Garth Brooks

Points of Light recognized Garth Brooks with The Inaugural George H.W. Bush Points of Light Award for Caring and Compassion.

Learn More

Maria Rose Belding

MEANS Database

Learn More

Khloe Thompson

Khloe Kares

Learn More

The George H.W. Bush Points of Light Awards Gala

The George H.W. Bush Points of Light Awards Gala was held on Thursday, Sept. 26, 2019, at the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum in New York City, where these inaugural honorees were presented with their awards.

Presidents George W. Bush, Jimmy Carter, Bill Clinton and Barack Obama are graciously serving as honorary co-chairs of the Awards Gala.