2012 Points of Light Tribute Awards

September 7, 2012

Building on the extraordinary momentum created by last year’s NBC-televised Tribute honoring President and Mrs. George H. W. Bush at the Kennedy Center, the 2012 Points of Light Tribute Awards launches an annual celebration that will pay homage to one of the President’s greatest legacies, Points of Light, and his belief that “any definition of a successful life must include serving others.” 

The event will spotlight those who best exemplify the American ideal of service and voluntary action. Celebrities, dignitaries, business executives, supporters and civic leaders will come together to salute those being recognized with the Daily Point of Light award. Guests will enjoy a celebratory and inspirational evening that brings people together in an extraordinary setting with music, special guests and moments that will inspire and lift up the unifying spirit of service and the power of people to change lives. In honor of Ambassador and Mrs. Fujisaki, we will also pay tribute to volunteers responding to the 2011 earthquake and tsunami and supporting ongoing recovery efforts in Japan. This exclusive and prestigious event will kick off the fall social season in Washington, D.C.



Evening of Friday, September 7, 2012
Black Tie
Location: Washington, D.C.

Event Co-Chairs
His Excellency the Ambassador of Japan and Mrs. Fujisaki
Mr. and Mrs. Neil M. Bush

Host Committee*
The Honorable and Mrs. Sam Nunn, Chairs
Dr. Johnnetta Cole
The Honorable Esther Coopersmith
Mr. and Mrs. Arnaud de Borchgrave
Mr. Matt Echols
Mr. and Mrs. Taylor Glover
Mr. and Mrs. Tom Johnson
Mr. and Mrs. Tom Noonan
Dr. Sachiko Kuno and Dr. Ryuji Ueno
The Honorable and Mrs. William J. Webster

Corporate Committee*
The Honorable and Mrs. Walter J. Ganzi, Jr., Chairs
Mr. and Mrs. Sanders Cockman
The Honorable and Mrs. Thomas J. Collamore
Ms. Deva Hirsch

Honorary Congressional Committee*
The Honorable Saxby Chambliss
Senator Daniel K. Inouye
The Honorable Richard G. Lugar
The Honorable Barbara A. Mikulski
Senator Richard Burr
Representative Ileana Ros-Lehtinen

For more information about the event, please email events@pointsoflight.org.

* As of 7/14/12